Legendary Years - Rhapsody of Fire (2017)

As we know, the saga of world once most bombastic power metal band Rhapsody of Fire has really reach its climax. In 2011,  a friendly split had taken the band into two groups. It took six years later that Fabio Lione, the voice Rhapsody of Fire has also finally left the band. On this matter, Giacomo Voli been recruited as replacement for new vocalist. The other long time member, drummer Alex Holzwarth also left the band and respectively replaced by Manu Lotter. As the most up to date formation, it is only Alex Straropoli that being the only original member of the band. With this in mind, the almost new band of Rhapsody of Fire decided to do a compilation album. The problem is, they redo all the songs despite of how legendary the original one is. Legendary Years is a remake of Rhapsody of Fire's favorite tunes. If you haven't decided how to put all RoF best hits into one album, well, the compilation of songs for Legendary Years is well selected. In this album, the band bring the best riffs, the best ballad and the best epic for listener.

The good things of the remake happen to fall to all songs from their first album : Legendary Tales.  "Flames of Revenge", "Land of Immortals", "Legendary Tales" are the song benefit from this remake. The modern recording and mixing quality are worth for the remake. Even though we all love the original version of course. Simply say it, the one with Luca Turilli! However, the band decided to decreased the volume of the orchestra channel. Listen to the first song "Dawn of Victory", just when the orchestration joined in, the power is not as bombastic as the original version. The other thing to notice is how the guitar distortion is softer than the original version. Two songs that slightly affected by this version are "Dargor, Shadowlord of the Black Mountain" and "Holy Thunderforce", I just love the original version because its guitar rawness compare to the new one. The last thing to compare is the vocal done by Giacomo Voli, although I will simply enjoy the new singer to reinterpreted all these songs.

Legendary Years is  a great compilation that shown how the band become as legend-wait for it-dary, as today. Fourteen songs selected to refill our memories on the best moment in the late '90, where we all wait for new Rhapsody album to be released from Italy! All the remake done in 99.99% faithful to the original. Modern technology help us owned these new recordings. Let's put the past behind us and welcome the once again new Rhapsody of Fire line up, performing our favorite classic tunes from the band.

Buy it Here - Amazon
Legendary Years - Rhapsody of Fire (2017)

1. "Dawn of Victory" Dawn of Victory 4:44
2. "Knightrider of Doom" Power of the Dragonflame 3:58
3. "Flames of Revenge" Legendary Tales 5:32
4. "Beyond the Gates of Infinity" Symphony of Enchanted Lands 7:21
5. "Land of Immortals" Legendary Tales 4:53
6. "Emerald Sword" Symphony of Enchanted Lands 4:23
7. "Legendary Tales" Legendary Tales 7:49
8. "Dargor, Shadowlord of the Black Mountain" Dawn of Victory 4:47
9. "When Demons Awake" Power of the Dragonflame 6:46
10. "Wings of Destiny" Symphony of Enchanted Lands 4:17
11. "Riding the Winds of Eternity" Symphony of Enchanted Lands 4:12
12. "The Dark Tower of Abyss" Symphony of Enchanted Lands 6:51
13. "Holy Thunderforce" Dawn of Victory 4:20
14. "Rain of a Thousand Flames" Rain of a Thousand Flames 3:43
15. "Where Dragons Fly" Emerald Sword (Japan Bonus)

 Giacomo Voli – lead vocals
 Roby De Micheli – guitar
 Alessandro Sala – bass
 Alex Staropoli – keyboards
 Manu Lotter – drums


Seven Kingdoms - Decennium (2017)

The existence of power metal in Easteros is less heard than in Westeros. However, a group of free-swords from little swamp area of Florida had been crafting this genre of skill for a while by now. They called themself "Seven Kingdoms" , obviously worshiper of the Iron Throne in Westeros. So far the band had released to the world at least four albums. Their latest is called "Decennium", consisted of ten musical poems. Just as their previous released, Decennium is a compilation of tales about what happening right now in, well, the Seven Kingdoms.

Since the death of Lord Eddard "Ned" Stark, the unrest had been going on for several winters by now. The first poems heard in "Stargazer" should revealed what the rumored we have heard so far. And if the tension between the Northern and Southern hasn't got enough for us, the next poems "Undying" and "In the Walls" are not for children to listen. These tells about the white walkers. There also a strange gossip script in "The Tale of Deathface Ginny", whether this is a pure entertainment or maybe a hidden message, the music is quite amusing. "Castles in the Snow" has an opening riff that seems like a competitor to one of the band in Easteros, HammerFall. The two axeman are of course the large part of attraction in this album, their magic skill of guitar playing is beyond the capable of normal human.

The passion of Jaime Lannister and his sword obviously been an inspiration in  "Kingslayer". If you interested in the triangle love story of Cerse-Jaime-Brienne, well maybe there is a chance that is included in the lyric. The band also trying to dig the mystery of "The Faceless Hero". Where the rumored we known so far had strongly connected to Arya Starks. As for the rest of the album, are songs taken from what the bird whisper, probably to the ear of Lord Petyr Baelish, the Little Finger.

The young woman screaming in this compilation is Lady Sabrina Valentine. She was with axemen Camden Cruz and Kevin Byrd, who happened to be a brother to the percussion master, Keith Byrd. To complete the formation, is a low string pluckman, sir Aaron Sluss, probably from one of the House in Qarth region. Decennium is a love war story from our realm. If you have listened to the band before, Decennium should be familiar as their style of art hadn't been of any changes. The band had continued their success by marrying power metal and strange tales in Seven Kingdoms. Do not miss the chance to entertained our self with this wonderful album, grab them in the nearest tavern and shop. Especially when the Dragon Queen is about to land in Westeros, very soon.

Buy it Here - Amazon

Seven Kingdoms - Decennium (2017)

1. Stargazer 05:08
2. Undying 05:12
3. In the Walls 04:52
4. The Tale of Deathface Ginny 04:55
5. Castles in the Snow 05:09
6. Kingslayer 05:56
7. The Faceless Hero 04:16
8. Neverending 05:46
9. Hollow 04:49
10. Awakened from Nothing 05:32

Keith Byrd Drums
Kevin Byrd Guitars
Camden Cruz Guitars
Sabrina Valentine Vocals
Aaron Sluss Bass

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...