The Ferrymen - The Ferrymen (2017)

Magnus Karlsson had started yet another metal project. This time, the guitarist from Primal Fear teamed up as trio with drummer Mike Terrana (Tarja, Axel Rudi Pell, Yngwie Malmsteen) and vocalist Ronnie Romero (Rainbow). A strong line up indeed! The trio doing yet another melodic metal stuffs, but of course with such creative mind on board, there are many wet ideas to be found.

First thing about this record is the presence of Ronnie Romero's. His new energy spend in this album will added more color to those who already familiar with his voices. As for started "End Of The Road" is a traditional heavy metal tunes that remained us to Rage, Masterplan and Primal Fear, bands that belong (or ex-belong) to the member of The Ferrymen. Magnus Karlsson released his beastly shredding with creative riffs and speed light solos, to lift up the expectation of his guitar hero status. "Ferryman" is a promising melodic metal stuff dive into the area of old Stratovarius. For Mike Terrana, he truly he meet his match in the third track "Fool You All", where Magnus Karlsson trying to mimic old Whitesnake "Fool for Your Loving" riffs. Mike blasted out some powerful drum fill in every connecting passages. Ronnie Romero try out old Rainbow-like stuff in ballad "One Heart". "Eternal Night" show this album tendency to expanded into the old '80s stuff, with nostalgic high notes singing.

The Ferrymen is not that ordinary side project with random veteran musicians jammed up. This album is a very productive collaboration between three musicians that happened to be big names in their respective band. Listeners can expected traditional heavy metal stuffs with details performance of Magnus Karlsson guitar works and Mike Terrana drumming. On top of that Ronnie Romero is doing great job interpreting ideas with his vocals. Song writing is a fantastic factor in this album, that basically done a regular heavy metal and power metal stuffs. Lovely and successful debut album indeed.

Metal Harem class : ********** nine stars out of ten

Buy it Here - Amazon
The Ferrymen - The Ferrymen (2017)

01. End Of The Road
02. Ferryman
03. Fool You All
04. Still Standing Up
05. Cry Wolf
06. One Heart
07. Darkest Hour
08. How The Story Ends
09. Enter Your Dream
10. Eyes On The Sky
11. Eternal Night
12. Welcome To My Show

Mike Terrana : drums
Magnus Karlsson : guitars, bass, keyboards
Ronnie Romero : vocals

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...