Avantasia - Moonglow (2019)

Avantasia is the market leader for making metal opera concept album, since their first debut in 2000. Moonglow is their 8th studio album, relased in 2019. As a big fans for Avantasia, I expected much that this album will still contained epic power metal stuffs. Sure it still does. Tobias Sammet continued to bring along his legion of Avantasian singers such as Jorn Lande, Bob Catley, Michael Kiske and others. The highlight is the addition of Candice Night that sing in their album title song, Moonglow.

My favorite is the first song, Ghost in the Moon and Moonglow . All songs written in the spirit of Avantasia operatic power metal style. Memorable choruses. Songs are more varied in this album than ever, from epic 11 minutes The Raven Child that sounds like Blind Guardian song, to the ballad piano Invincible performed by Geoff Tate, that sounds like Queensryche stuff.  Fans of Michael Kiske can cry joyfully for the song, Requeim for a Dream, which is one of the heaviest in the album. Another catchy song is Starlight, which have one of the best creative guitar riff that outstanding to the ear.

Moonglow is another epic continuation for Avantasia universe. Even though the same formula has been applied in numerous studio albums, the band still have brazen ideas to be baked into enjoyable power metal songs.

Avantasia - Moonglow (2019)
Buy it Here - Amazon

 1. Ghost in the Moon
  2. Book of Shallows (feat. Hansi Kürsch , Ronnie Atkins , Jorn Lande & Mille Petrozza)
  3. Moonglow (feat. Candice Night)
  4. The Raven Child (feat. Hansi Kürsch & Jorn Lande)
  5. Starlight (feat. Ronnie Atkins)
  6. Invincible (feat. Geoff Tate)
  7. Alchemy (feat. Geoff Tate)
  8. The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (feat. Ronnie Atkins, Jorn Lande, Eric Martin, Bob Catley & Geoff Tat
  9. Lavender (feat. Bob Catley)
  10. Requiem for a Dream (feat. Michael Kiske)
  11. Maniac (feat. Eric Martin)

    Tobias Sammet – lead vocals, additional keyboard, bass guitar
    Sascha Paeth – guitar, bass guitar
    Michael Rodenberg – keyboard, piano, orchestration
    Felix Bohnke – drums

Guest vocalists
    Ronnie Atkins (Pretty Maids)
    Jørn Lande (Jorn)
    Eric Martin (Mr. Big)
    Geoff Tate (Queensrÿche)
    Michael Kiske (Helloween)
    Bob Catley (Magnum)
    Candice Night (Blackmore's Night)
    Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian)
    Mille Petrozza (Kreator)

Avantasia's Tobias Sammet Moonglow album review

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...