Freedom Call - Beyond (2014)

Beyond is Freedom Call eight studio album. As with many their previous works, this is yet another power metal, or even label as 'happy' / flower power metal, album without any doubt. This album also marked the new drummer Ramy Ali who replaced long time member Dan Zimmerman.

Right from the first notes in Union Of The Strong, the trade mark of Freedom Call is there. Their signature chorus singing is rolling, and Chris Bay is never lose his unique power metal voices. Knights of Taragon is a continuation of Freedom Call's Taragon universe. Both songs can't really put Freedom Call fans worry because they are exactly feel at home. This is safely continued to the third song, Heart Of A Warrior, which is really in the heart of power metal with melodic intro, fast riff and easy to follow choruses. Come On Home is much lighter work, a happy sounds for every one. For Beyond, even though the piano passage is melancholic but still elements of optimism dictates the mood. Rather strange one is Among The Shadows, which is now goes into rather darker feel. Edge Of The Ocean is a perfect song if there is a female voice in duet, due to its many changes of vocals parts. Far into the eight song, Journey Into Wonderland, that happy singing is still well preserved. So is there any conflict chapter or bumping road along their way? Not much. Dance Off The Devil maybe their contrasting moment, rather unusual song of Freedom Call, this is African theme song. We are back to the core with Paladin, the verses resembling close to the song Light Up The Sky from Dimension album. Colours Of Freedom is the perfect happiest climax to close the album.

As with many Freedom Call albums, you can never go wrong with Beyond. I am big fans of Freedom Call, considered Eternity, Dimension, and Legend of the Shadowking as their very well written happy power metal album. Upon the release of Land of the Crimson Dawn, they were a bit off their moment. In that comparison, Beyond is back again with many songs that memorable. The only complaint is they are just too much epic and happy moments in this album!

Metal Harem class: ********* eight stars out of te

Freedom Call - Beyond (2014)
Buy it here - Amazon

01. Union Of The Strong
02. Knights Of Taragon
03. Heart Of A Warrior
04. Come On Home
05. Beyond
06. Among The Shadows
07. Edge Of The Ocean
08. Journey Into Wonderland
09. In The Rhythm Of Light
10. Dance Off The Devil
11. Paladin
12. Follow Your Heart
13. Colours Of Freedom
14. Beyond Eternity

CD2 (Unplugged & Masqueraded):
01. Freedom Call (unplugged)
02. The Quest (unplugged)
03. Warriors (unplugged)
04. Power & Glory (unplugged)
05. Farewell (unplugged)
06. Mr.Evil (Reggae) (live)
07. Rockin' Radio (Killerbilly) (live)

Ilker Ersin – Bass
Chris Bay - Guitars, Vocals
Lars Rettkowitz – Guitars
Ramy Ali - Drums

Freedom call - Beyond album review

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...