Judas Priest - Redeemer Of Souls [2014]

Exactly 40 years ago in 1974, "Rocka Rolla" marked the debut album for a group that going to be heavy metal legend, Judas Priest. That mean they had passed through almost the entire era of heavy metal genre up to day. Times flies by with no compromise, forty years later Judas Priest is seventeen albums stronger. "Redeemer Of Souls" is their latest album released in 2014. This album fights all along the modern sounds and taste, straightly goes back to their root with catchy simple riffs and signature Rob Halford voice. On the net, Glen Tipton found saying that this album will has no too adventurous moment, they had listen to their fans regarding the luke-warm reception on their "Nostradamus" album. "Redeemer of Souls" is kind of back to what Judas Priest in "Painkiller" era.

The first three songs are simple, strictly open with power riffs. Noted that KK Downing position is now to relay Richie Faulkner. You going to find most remain same, the band keep everything familiar as before. "Dragonaut" is powerful opener, mid tempo song, feel very much in the '80s, Rob Halford has enough moment to exercise his vibrato elsewhere in the song. Almost the same thing can be said with "Redeemer Of Souls", this time the tempo is faster slightly, song writing are very melodic as Judas Priest always done. "Halls Of Valhalla" is finally something epic with longer musical opening. We jump to "Down In Flames" as the twin melodic intro is something different than others. "Hell & Back" is dark guitar ballad leads to mid tempo rock song. Something conceptual a la Queensryche is in "Cold Blooded". The band still get more song to make up a total of 13 songs + 5 in the bonus CD. Good productivity.

Redeemer Of Souls bring along many nostalgic Judas Priest moments. This album didn't have zenith scale song to reached all old fans to have it. Yet, there exist minor spikes to notice about the Judas Priest legacy. I would say the band were kind to releases large number of songs, where the first quarter of the album already can do well actually. Rob Halford comes still with his unique vocal character, while the guitars duo brings all classic licks and riffs to make up new songs. Come and listen once again to Judas Priest.

Favorite tracks: "Halls Of Valhalla", "Cold Blooded", "Metalizer", "Dragonaut", "Redeemer Of Souls"
Metal Harem class: ******** eight stars out of ten

Buy it Here - Amazon

Judas Priest - Redeemer Of Souls [2014]

CD 1:
01. Dragonaut
02. Redeemer Of Souls
03. Halls Of Valhalla
04. Sword Of Damocles
05. March Of the Damned
06. Down In Flames
07. Hell & Back
08. Cold Blooded
09. Metalizer
10. Crossfire
11. Secrets Of The Dead
12. Battle Cry
13. Beginning Of The End

CD 2:

01. Snakebite
02. Tears Of Blood
03. Creatures
04. Bring It On
05. Never Forget

    Ian Hill – bass
    Rob Halford – vocals
    Glenn Tipton – guitars, keyboards, synthesiser
    Scott Travis – drums, percussion
    Richie Faulkner – guitars

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...