Megadeth - Dystopia (2016)

The day is always better when we have good new Megadeth album. Yes, this is our lucky year, Megadeth is on top of their wheel of fortune. Dystopia is their 15th studio album, and it is the better one. Indeed, perhaps the best one after a long long while. There are two ultimate questions for Megadeth cyber army, and fans worldwide, to expect from this album. First is how the two new guys doing on in helping Dave Mustaine maintained Megadeth. While Kiko Loureiro acquisition is highly celebrated, can this aging thrash metal band benefit from this younger gun? Kiko's background, mainly in Angra, seem a bit out of Megadeth sound. The former Chris Broderick himself at least played in thrash band Nevermore, and he declared conflict in creative idea with the band after only several years. On Chris Adler side, the situation a bit easier. On paper, Chris is likely the most qualified drummer for Megadeth in any situation. We curiously want to listen this new line up to fire up indeed. Secondly, how Megadeth will sounds and survive after their weird, less-thrash, previous release, Super Collider?

Well, Megadeth also highly like to address these issues a.s.a.p. Three songs had been published online prior to the full album release. The Threat Is Real, Dystopia and Fatal Illusion all hastily released in Youtube by the band. These three songs are in positive acceptance by fans. They demonstrated the band eagerly return to old days. Trademark riffs, unique Dave thrash voice, blazing solos and drum are present there. The nightmare of Super Collider to be past now. The rest of album is also very promising. The highlights are: Post American World, which is almost a revision to Cryptic Writing's era, sounds like Trust but with real thrash guitar added to them.Then, Poisonous Shadows is poisonous track on the album where additional orchestra and choir inserted. A symphonic thrash metal maybe, what this song is. Kiko Loureiro had done impressive jobs so far, covered almost every bars with solos. He got even high time in Conquer Or Die with acoustic guitar intro and full instrumental song, highly in his favorite Latin minor scale. Even the traditional Megadeth "melodic speech" song got its upgrade in Last Dying Wish.

Dystopia is going to be everyone favorite album because the materials are surprisingly kick ass. Songs are strong with many awesome riffs we can expected from Megadeth. It is positively my favorite album after Youthanasia. Kiko as we just listen, is superb in this album. He just nailed all the required solos, fills in, riffs with easiness at the same time quite tense also. Chris Adler is without question throwing all his power, for this maybe his one shot opportunity as Megadeth member. Furious double pedal fills is now part of Megadeth sounds. The two Dave and David stayed on top of their game. David Jr didn't lost any idea as he just doing his Metal Allegiance project and has enough groove to give. Dave Mustaine himself find his best signature vocals in this album. Forget all our rage after the previous album, Megadeth is back with Dystopia.

Metal Harem class: ********** nine stars out of ten

Buy it Here - Amazon

Megadeth - Dystopia (2016)

01. The Threat Is Real
02. Dystopia
03. Fatal Illusion
04. Death From Within
05. Bullet To The Brain
06. Post American World
07. Poisonous Shadows
08. Look Who's Talking [Best Buy/iTunes bonus]
09. Conquer Or Die - instrumental
10. Lying In State
11. The Emperor
12. Last Dying Wish [Best Buy/iTunes bonus]
13. Foreign Policy [Fear cover]
14. Me Hate You [Japanese bonus]
15. Melt The Ice Way [Budgie cover] [digital bonus]

Dave Mustaine - guitars, vocals
Kiko Loureiro - guitars
David Warren Ellefson - bass, backing vocals
Chris Adler - drums

Megadeth Dystopia album review

Album Megadeth terbaru bersama gitarist Kiko Loureiro.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...