Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals - Walk Through Exits Only (2013)

The 'H' is for Hansen, if you wonder. Ah yes, finally a true solo from Pantera frontman, Phil Anselmo. Walk Through Exits Only come to public in July 2013 and it is a container to eight tracks of heavy metal, which we can say closest to Pantera among Phil's many projects. He is joined by guitarist Marzi Montazeri whom also historically close friend to Dimebag.

After a rather industrial-core opening Music Media Is My Whore, we got to introduced to many Pantera-like elements on the rest of album. Phil stated the album will be sounds as angriest as possible, Battalion Of Zero make sure we got that picture clear. Guitar riffs is aggressive as in Vulgar Display of Power era and the solos are brutal. Most close resembling of that perhaps found in Usurper Bastard's Rant, with that staccato pattern beat and octave shift guitar licks. Still we got Walk Through Exits Only comes as most aggressive in tempo, vocals and showering the guitar with shred notes. There is no resting point here, Bedroom Destroyer continue the fury with its awesome drum groove, then fast word screaming choruses. Then Phil make it simple by putting in all in one lengthy final tracks called Irrelevant Walls And Computer Screens.

Play attention to Marzi for all his hard works on this album. Persian by blood, he confessed for being friend to Dimebag a long time ago and shared memories such as jamming with Dimebag. His riffs surely got some influence on his late friends. As for the vocal works no doubt on Phil's signature growling. As stated in the beginning, Pantera fans will found this a nice incarnation of the band, although this is much metalcore, much industrial than Pantera. Still if you got nerve to hold 40 minutes of blasting guitars, Walk Through Exits Only will up your challenge.

Metal Harem class: ******** eight stars out of ten

Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals - Walk Through Exits Only (2013)
Buy It Here at Amazon

01. Music Media Is My Whore (1:55)
02. Battalion Of Zero (4:20)
03. Betrayed (5:28)
04. Usurper Bastard's Rant (3:57)
05. Walk Through Exits Only (5:34)
06. Bedroom Destroyer (5:03)
07. Bedridden (2:25)
08. Irrelevant Walls And Computer Screens (12:01)

Philip H. Anselmo - Vocals
Marzi Montazeri - Guitars
Joey Gonzalez - Drums
Stephen Taylor - Bass

Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals Walk Through Exits Only album review

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...