Stephan Forte - The Shadow Compendium 2011

There are several interesting guitar shred album released by axeman of famous metal band in 2011. But Stephan Forte's The Shadow Compendium is one of my most anticipated guitar album. He told us about this project much time behind ... and make us await. Being in progressive band, Adagio, Forte need to released his other guitar energy on his other project such as his private album. Not much to say, playing virtuoso in neo classical style in late 2011 years, need great nerve and creativity to not repeated the same guitar "licks" from this exhausting genre.

To add more spices, this album also included jamming partner in crime, other crazy guitarist such as Jeff Loomis (who going to put out 2nd album soon in 2012), Glen Drover, Mattias IA Eklundh and others. Notable are the opening track, The Shadows Compendium, is a track in heavy harmonic minor thing. De Praestigiis Daemonum is more progressive in scale, Forte duet with Mattias Eklundh here. But we soon arrive on third tracks Spiritual Bliss, where the guitar take on spiritual stand and calm down the tempo and the music more ambient. This continue with the fourth title, Duat, back again to 200 bpm thing and double bass drumming.

Propechy of Loki XXI is intrique piano + guitar shredding track. And the album ended calmly with, perhaps, the only suspected filler of the album. So,  the album is a bit complicated in melody, and something unusual melody, slightly ala Vai but in neo-classical metal style. The straight forward guitar shred tracks are only half of the album. This album will take up your time until you are too familiar yourself and love it. Highly recommended and absolutely must have for guitar lover.

Stephan Forte - The Shadow Compendium
buy from Amazon here

01 - The Shadows Compendium (guests: Jeff Loomis / ex-Nevermore & Franck Hermanny/ Adagio)
02 - De Praestigiis Daemonum (guest: Mattias IA Eklundh / Freak Kitchen)
03 - Spiritual Bliss
04 - Duat (guest: Glen Drover/ ex-Megadeth)
05 - Sorrowful Centruroides (guest: Derek Taylor /Solo artist)
06 - Prophecies Of Loki XXI
07 - I think there’s someone in the kitchen (guest: Daniele Gottardo/Solo Artist)
08 - Improvisation on Sonata no. 14, c # minor - Op. 27 no 2

excellent cover graphic design and artwork by Ludovic Cordelières

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...