Dream Theater - Live at Luna Park (2013)

Live recordings are commonly found in Dream Theater releases. The band has built up a decent live action DVD showing how fluency they outperformed their own music. There is also rich library of unofficial video releases, or third party releases in Youtube. John Petrucci and the gang keep the tradition good, by releasing one more Live disc called Live at Luna Park.  It is just two months after their latest album, the _self-titled_ Dream Theater. However, to make it clear, Live at Luna Park did not play materials on that latest, but just up to the album Dramatic Turn of Events. For us, the fans, we all going to say it right away. The main interest of this album is in Mike Mangini's performances. We just want to see how he's doing. Taking that we already got countless version of Metropolis Pt.I or Pull Me Under, or given the nature of Dream Theater music that is hardly needed any more improvisation, we hope Mike Mangini will bring out some new ideas. He did.

First, all songs in Dramatic Turn of Events was performed. Bridges in the Sky is re order as the first opener. Mainly due to the didgeridoo sound effect in the beginning. The DVD also starts with short animation of single-wheel scene. It's a pity that this scene looks not up to Dream Theater quality, they should at least hired a "Square-Enix" or "Pixar" class animation studio to lift up the standard. So that this is the start, we can now enjoy a visual aids to what's the guys doing to produced this kind of complicated music alive. The second song is curious one, 6:00 from their Awake era. Dream Theater only done this live recording on their lesser known DVD, 5 Years in LIVE time. The drum and keyboard are played by different person from their original, so a good choice of song that has interesting value to put in the disc. I believe the drum intro has altered to Mangini's new approach as well. It's also one of few song where we can actually heard what John Myung doing.

The most ancient song of them was A Fortune in Lies, from their debut album. Then the past catalog includes several hits from their most popular album Images and Words which tracks are Metropolis Pt I, Surrounded and Pull Me Under. Back to materials from Dramatic Turn... Beneath the Surface is played with string quartet. This song act as closing to the first disc.

We also got three solos, drum, keyboards and guitars. It's provoking DT fans to send a referendum asking them to ever give John Myung a bass solos, which I believe he is the most mysterious guy in the band. The drum solos is overwhelming. The previous drummer is not a shadow anymore.

Cinematography, this CD is a bit more minimalist. Lesser inclusion of animations or stage effects as in DT previous Live DVD. The show was recorded in two nights show in Buenos Aires. They put all the show in the package, a three disc where the called it 'bonus' disc for the last one.

As in ever known, the performances was perfect. Even with ever increasing in difficulties, and a change of drummer, Dream Theater keep their reputation as god-level progressive metal on stage. So, not much can be said here, Live at Luna Park surely an interesting DT live recording. It's Mike Mangini present that added more interesting value but in general you always want to see how Dream Theater can magically put all the composition in live performances.

Metal Harem class: ********* nine stars out of ten

Dream Theater - Live at Luna Park (2013)

Disc 1

01. Bridges in the Sky
02. 6:00
03. The Dark Eternal Night
04. This Is the Life
05. The Root of All Evil
06. Lost Not Forgotten
07. Drum Solo
08. A Fortune in Lies
09. The Silent Man
10. Beneath the Surface

Disc 2

01. Outcry
02. Piano Solo
03. Surrounded
04. On the Backs of Angels
05. War Inside My Head
06. The Test That Stumped Them All
07. Guitar Solo
08. The Spirit Carries On
09. Breaking All Illusions
10. Metropolis Pt. 1

Disc 3

01. These Walls
02. Build Me Up, Break Me Down
03. Caught in a Web
04. Wait for Sleep
05. Far From Heaven
06. Pull Me Under

Kevin James LaBrie - vocals
Jordan Charles Rudess - keyboards
John Peter Petrucci - guitars, backing vocals
Michael "Mike" Mangini - drums
John Ro Myung - bass

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...