Wardrum – Messenger (2013)

Just a year after their 2nd album Desolation, which is a great power metal album, Wardrum released their third, Messenger in 2013. The span of only a year resulted in Messenger produced in many aspect, similar vibes and quality of their previous one. The quartet from Greece make this album almost the direct continuation to Desolation. If you just randomly shuffle the song from both albums, the different will not much audible. A good conclusion in all mean because the quality of Desolation is above expectation.

Their first song Shelter is a good opener. Classic 2 bar riff is a welcome headbanging invitation. The choruses written well and easily remember for. This followed by The Messenger in which the drumming is on the front spotlight with its power toms variation on the verses. Then it's the bass on the next turn for Lady Jane Grey, which is something remind me to Megadeth's in their Cryptic Writing / Risk era. Another melodic power metal cuts in the Phoenix, which is a good example of how power metal can be done without the use of galloping or double pedal drumming. This is in contrast to the next one, After Forever is double pedaling from the start. Wardrum also included neo-classical variation such in Red Ruby Heart. Another different stuffs is Broken, which as the title suggested, a mellow ballad acoustic song. Most of other songs in the rest album are enjoyable, most with recycled power metal riffs but the wrap up is good. The closing track is need to credit, Four Seasons is very thick minor/Latin/opera influence lament song, in power metal arrangement.

Almost perfect all around power metal album. Guitarist Kosta Vreto is very talented, putting a lot of creative solos, riffs and licks that make the album fresh and interesting. The singer is traditional high pitch style and render the song toward mellow-ish mood. Although almost a twin to their previous Desolation album, Messenger did catch up the quality if not exceeded it. Wonderful power metal released from the land of Greece.

Metal Harem class: ******** eight stars out of ten

Wardrum – Messenger (2013)

01. Shelter
02. The Messenger
03. Lady Jane Grey
04. Phoenix
05. After Forever
06. Looking Back
07. Travel Far Away
08. Oceans
09. Red Ruby Heart
10. Deceiver
11. Broken
12. Vengeance
13. Rebirth
14. Four Seasons

Yannis Papadopoulos - Vocals
Kosta Vreto - Guitar
Kostas Scandalis - Bass
Stergios Kourou - Drums

Wardrum - Messenger album review

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...