Axel Rudi Pell - Into The Storm (2014)

It's an even number year and a studio album should be expected from Axel Rudi Pell.  Into the Storm is his year 2014 album. Axel Rudi Pell is most consistent with his releases, almost every year if we counted non studio album and two year cycle for studio album. Into The Storm marked his 16th studio album! Axel had been doing this since 1989. On the latest album notes, as usual Axel also has a consistent band formation but only drummer maestro Mike Terrana is replaced by another veteran drummer, Bobby Rondinelli.

When you hear Axel you'll able to imagine the music even before its started. That's the third consistent we have, the music! This album sounds closer to all their previous compared to the last one (the 15th!) Circle of the Oath. The sounds remained melodic-sentimental mood, as soon as Johny starts to sing. Forget The Inquisitorial Procedure which is the brief theatrical intro with redundant title, Tower of Lies is what we talkin' about. Simple guitar riffs, replied by a drum fills, and we are off the road of Axel Rudi Pell heavy metal world. Long Way to Go is celebrated oldies '80s kind of riff to start. Enjoyable song with memory to the past, it just I feel the song sung in slightly too low in the key. Burning Chains is homage to Deep Purple's Burn itself in the opening and hammond organ sounds. Much to enjoy and the solos begin to show off some fast stuffs. When Truth Hurts is a piano ballad, we should ban the band in playing ballad because the result going to be too effusive. But I tell ya after this song, the half next part of the album did provide many interesting tracks. Touching Heaven is recommended here. Of course Hey Hey My My is very fit to Axel and Johny duet, and in fact I pretty much like this version. Finally Into the Storm should received credits for its epic composition and zither sounds. There are two bonuses, one instrumental guitar track in White Cats and then new age-ish Way to Mandalay.

As usual, Into the Storm really Axel Rudi Pell in every aspect. But as his fans for many years and albums, I think this album consisted many original ideas. It is sounds like the same but with new songs keep coming. Praised to Axel and the band to put everything on the track without losing to the syndrome of repetition. The cover art is also cool. This album should keep us busy for the two solid year,... before the 17th album come.

Metal Harem class: ********* eights stars out of ten

 Axel Rudi Pell - Into The Storm (2014)
Buy from Here - AMAZON

1. The Inquisitorial Procedure
2. Tower of Lies
3. Long Way to Go
4. Burning Chains
5. When Truth Hurts
6. Changing Times
7. Touching Heaven
8. High Above
9. Hey Hey My My (Neil Young cover)
10. Into the Storm
11. White Cats (Opus #6 Scivolare) (Bonus)
12. Way to Mandalay (bonus)

Volker Krawczak – Bass
Axel Rudi Pell – Guitars
Ferdy Doernberg – Keyboards
Johnny Gioeli – Vocals
Bobby Rondinelli - Drums

Axel Rudi Pell - Into the Storm album review

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...