Týr - Valkyrja (2013)

They are coming from Faroe Island and have every reason to sing the Viking metal songs. Týr is going to stir the wind of power metal in their seventh studio album called Valkyrja. All their previous albums were highly talked about the Nordic mythology so does this one, and it seems we must once again listen to its tales on this highly recommended folk metal album.

The quartet opened with a song titled Blood of Heroes (not to be confused with Megadeth's...). Epic riffs that match the title of the song. We then introduced to Tyr version of folk metal. Singing are a bit slow and low to baritone territory making the Gothic feeling in the mist. There's element of Power Metal, Sabaton and Paradise Lost to mixed in. The Lay of Our Love is featuring Liv Kristine of Leaves' Eyes, beautiful ballad duet. The next nice catchy is Nation. The combination between metal and Viking style choruses are well connected here. Fast song are in Another Fallen Brother and Lady of the Slain. For thick folk metal tracks are in Fnar Burtur Brandalj and Valkyrja, the native language title making it compulsory to use folk instruments. One last interesting point is in Grindavsan where the use of power Viking style choir will make something memorable for the whole album.

Valkyrja is specific in style. The band is success in placing the different folk + power metal sounds that less found in other similar band, such as Ensiferum or Sabaton. They did not overly use folk instrumental to catch the attention. It is the vocals and song writing that defined their music. The backing music itself also did not over extended into virtuosity but served properly to what the music needed for. Two covers in the end are very well performed. Iron Maiden's Where Eagles Dare are rarely covered, and very welcomed one from Iron Maiden fans. Cemetery Gates from Pantera is rather fun because the band must swim into the style that not their own. I think the addition of these two covers is valuable bonus to rise this album into highly recommended status.

Metal Harem class: ******** eight stars out of ten

Týr - Valkyrja (2013)
Buy It Here - Amazon

01. Blood of Heroes (3:42)
02. Mare of My Night (3:55)
03. Hel Hath No Fury (3:27)
04. The Lay of Our Love (3:48)
05. Nation (4:05)
06. Another Fallen Brother (4:05)
07. Grindavsan (4:11)
08. Into the Sky (2:56)
09. Fnar Burtur Brandalj (3:38)
10. Lady of the Slain (4:33)
11. Valkyrja (7:31)
12. Where Eagles Dare (Iron Maiden cover) (6:26)
13. Cemetery Gates (Pantera cover) (7:25)

Heri Joensen – Vocals / Guitar
Terji Skibenæs – Guitar
Gunnar Thomsen – Bass
George Kollias – Drums

Tyr - Valkyrja album review

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...