Megadeth Th1rt3en (2011) Review

Megadeth Th1rt3en (2011) Album Review

When Megadeth or Dave Mustaine "finished" in 2002 after the albums alike Risk, nobody really hope that Megadeth will arise and teeth in until the 13rd number of studio album. We all prove wrong and glad it was. Megadeth Th1rt3en studio album is another try for the member of Big Four to extend their colonialization on the genre.

What excitement about Megadeth album is to see how well the 2nd (or soloist) guitarist put their flavour into Dave's composition. Th1rt3en is the second Megadeth recording for virtuoso guitarist Chris Broderick here. But the other big news to be expect from this album is, this is the first come back of David Ellefson on bass. So, again Megadeth success in convincing everyone to get the album just by seeing the line up alone.

Sudden Death started with a minute of brutal guitar blitz. Dave Mustaine jump in to the song as mature as his speech about war and politics. Public Enemy no.1 is the big song here. This song flows natural and sound very easy for Megadeth to just chop and scream yet another commercial track. Whose Life (Is It Anyway?) is rather new feel for Megadeth. Gone through some awesome middle track, Dave still put his crazyness a bit into the track Never Dead. Black Swan is the next highlight. Millenium of the Blind continue Megadeth tradition to give a thrash ballad track ala Blood of Heroes. Deadly Nightshade remind us to Risk era, and it all end up in 13.

What should be expect from this album. There really no serious weakness here. The song structure is patented to chop and chorus. Th1rt3en is probably the best of  Megadeth after their break up in 2002. The band also actively touring with fellow Metallica and other Big Four. Dave Mustaine connection to the Metallica guys are now their biggest asset. A video of Dave Mustaine and Metallica performing "Phantom Lord" on Metallica 30th Anniversary is an historic end to their rivalry (link here).

come and get Th1rt3en from Amazon now.

01. Sudden Death
02. Public Enemy No. 1
03. Whose Life (Is It Anyways?)
04. We The People
05. Guns, Drugs & Money
06. Never Dead
07. New World Order
08. Fast Lane
09. Black Swan
10. Wrecker
11. Millennium Of The Blind
12. Deadly Nightshade
13. 13

Dave Mustaine – lead vocals, lead, rhythm
Chris Broderick – lead, rhythm and acoustic guitars
Dave Ellefson – bass guitar
Shawn Drover – drums

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...