KISS - Monster 2012

Whatever KISS doing in this age is a grace. Imagine that we still able to listen to their ideas, same as thirty or forty years ago. Not many bands can stay in same shape as what KISS doing. And in exactly same facial gestures.... For this week, here comes the 20th studio album of the legendary KISS, Monster. The album still has the same Gene Simmons and Paul Stanley. Together with Eric Singer and guitarist in charge, Tommy Thayer, KISS is in full spirit to entertain the survivor of rock n' roll with their music.

Thick in blues and rock n' roll riff, Monster started with Hell or Hallelujah. A rather Rainbow's Lost in Hollywood riff intro? Just kidding. It's just a reference to give an idea that the '80s party is on. The singing here, Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons is the main things to enjoy. Wall Of Sound and Freak delivered that hard rock spirit with both singers take turns to make this a KISS legacy. Back To The Stone Age is tight rock n' roll groove with back to '70s feel. There is also Eat Your Heart Out that its chorus intro and its elaborate riff are just design for KISS to explore on the big arena. Similar to the provoking All For The Love Of Rock & Roll, that bring back memory by it verses and choruses, best to enjoy with buddies in your late 40s.  My favorite track. Take Me Down Below in its killer groove bring us to the last parts of the album.

And there you go, the continuation of king of rock n' roll. Monster is just plain simple KISS album and actually sounds very familiar most of times. Of course because there lay the forty years experiences of making music. Last word on this album is mature and bold. With support of veteran axeman Tommy Thayer, replacing the legend Ace Frehley , the guitar sounds are root in '70s rock n' roll riff. Never too late to get into KISS if you ever a young fans of rock.

Metalharem class: ******** eight stars out of ten

KISS - Monster 2012
buy it here at Amazon

01. Hell Or Hallelujah
02. Wall Of Sound
03. Freak
04. Back To The Stone Age
05. Shout Mercy
06. Long Way Down
07. Eat Your Heart Out
08. The Devil Is Me
09. Outta This World
10. All For The Love Of Rock & Roll
11. Take Me Down Below
12. Last Chance
13. Right Here Right Now

Paul Stanley – rhythm guitar, lead vocals
Gene Simmons – bass guitar, lead vocals
Tommy Thayer – lead guitar, vocals
Eric Singer – drums, percussion, vocals

the 2012 KISS artworks

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...