Arjen Anthony Lucassen's Lost in The New Real (2012)

Arjen Anthony Lucassen, composer in progressive metal and rock hailed from Netherland. Owner of Ayreon and Star One progressive metal band, this year, Arjen decided to do his “solo” project. The point is to let himself sing and done most of the work of instrumentation. The album titled Lost in the New Real then released as the result, it’s a double album.

What made different is this project sounds much more Pink Flyod feel, less guitar distortion, less charismatic singing from various singers , compare to Ayreon and Star One project. But then in the blink of eyes you will know this is Arjen music as it is always that sound like space-rock feel. The project also narrated  by actor Rutger Hauer. The tune of the album lyrical is apocalyptic life theme. Parental Procreation Permit speaks about difficulties of raising children in the age. E-Police deal with a theme of cyberspace piracy problem, in the past time flash back. Which is my favourite theme so far with all its enjoyable sarcastic lyric.

Musically, this is all Arjen Lucassen style. There will be no straight blues or Ionian scale here, some are very dissonance as in Yellowstone Memorial Day. The New Real which serves as opening track also didn’t help much in welcoming unfamiliar ear. Lost in the New Real is the last 10 minute composition with interesting cello line there.

Arjen has give the world another fruit of thought in music. Away from his bombastic and epic project as in Ayreon, this album is a smaller scale, and relax environment. The second CD however more or less a tribute album and serves as extended listening hour.

Arjen Anthony Lucassen's Lost In The New Real
buy it here

Disc I
01. The New Real
02. Pink Beatles In A Purple Zeppelin
03. Parental Procreation Permit
04. When I'm A Hundred Sixty-Four
05. E-Police
06. Don't Switch Me Off
07. Dr. Slumber's Eternity Home
08. Yellowstone Memorial Day
09. Where Pigs Fly
10. Lost In The New Real
+ Behind The New Real

Disc II
01. Our Imperfect Race
02. Welcome To The Machine [Pink Floyd cover]
03. So Is There No God?
04. Veteran Of The Psychic Wars [Blue Öyster Cult cover]
05. The Social Recluse
06. Battle Of Evermore [Led Zeppelin cover]
07. The Space Hotel
08. Some Other Time [Alan Parsons Project cover]
09. You Have Entered The Reality Zone
10. I'm The Slime [Frank Zappa cover]
+ Behind The Artwork

Arjen A. Lucassen – Lead Vocals, Guitar, Bass & Keyboards
Ed Warby – Drums
Ben Mathot – Violin
Maaike Peterse – Cello
Rutger Hauer – Spoken Vocals

A complexes and full of easter eggs cover album artwork

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...