Ugly Kid Joe - Stairway to Hell (EP) 2012

One of the ugly kids of glam metal has back to recorded a new music. Ugly Kid Joe we all know is responsible for the fantastic one shoot album America's Least Wanted back in 1991. The album is so phenomenon that become the only glam metal band to stand head to head against grunge invasion. The kids then produced two more albums but the story had changes little bit as none were memorable now. This month the old Joe try to recapture their spirit and release a humble EP called Stairway to Hell.

About 20 minutes of music, the band recorded six songs to marked their brave resurrection. The first song is Devil's Paradise. Sure we are not in close contact to America's Least Wanted song writing quality, since this is mostly glam rock with large utilization of wah wah and modern rock singing. You Make Me Sick maybe the closest now to that yesteryear ugly Joe singing. The voice of singer Whitfield Crane is memorable here. No One Survives remind us to the Cats in the Cradle and Busy Bee ballad-rock variation. I'm Alright is more or less filler here. Love Ain't True is a mix with alternative rock and present of Fishbone singers raise the interesting point of this song. Finally the EP close with acoustic country rock song Another Beer.

Ugly Kid Joe is still continue its journey to delivered "answer" to their debut album, since this is more or less a warm up EP for the band. This album is a mature version and for those still like the teenage / ugly Joe, this may need careful consideration.

Ugly Kid Joe - Stairway to Hell 2012
buy it here

1. "Devil's Paradise" (3:37)
2. "You Make Me Sick" (3:42)
3. "No One Survives" (4:02)
4. "I'm Alright" (3:21)
5. "Love Ain't True!" (featuring Angelo Moore and Dirty Walt of Fishbone) (3:28)
6. "Another Beer" (3:33)

    Whitfield Crane – lead vocals
    Klaus Eichstadt – guitars
    Cordell Crockett – bass
    Dave Fortman – guitar
    Shannon Larkin – drums

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...