Gloryhammer - Tales From the Kingdom of Fife (2013)

If this album ever rise to the top of chart, it will prove at least three things. First, deep inside everybody's heart we love power metal. Second, we also love dragon and knight as well. Third, we still haven't got enough Rhapsody of Fire, even after they split into two projects. Lol, but that is how fantastic this album heading for. This is Christopher Bowes having a fun side project outside his regular job in Alestorm. Gloryhammer then formed by several other musicians in power metal genre. This is exactly what Rhapsody of Fire sound if they ever put it in Scottish theme.

We got the typical overture intro in Anstruther's Dark Prop. The Unicorn Invasion of Dundee is one of many well written power metal song in this album, in a minute bring us into the power metal tears and glory. Angus McFife is the flagship single, already released as video clip. The harmony chorus is very familiar power metal choir, yet it still usable to put into a new composition. Magic Dragon is neoclassical tune in every sense of dragon and warriors soundtrack feel. Silent Tears of Frozen Princess, uh oh, Rhapsody of Fire must be kicking himself for missing this high inspirational song title. All the way to full brass intro in Hail to Crail and this epic-fantasy-power metal album close with obligated ten minutes epiolog, The Epic Rage of Furious Thunder

Not much to say, Tales From the Kingdom of Fife bring back all the basic formula in symphonic power metal genre. Again this show to the listener how easy to produce enjoyable album whenever dragon, warrior and wizard combined. Singer from Emeral, Thomas L. Winkler is the only elements that separate them from Rhapsody of Fire, since his voice is raw and Scottish.... in opposite to Fabio Lione clean voice. The tight musicianship working for this album is no less than highly caliber Luca Turilli and team. They capable to produce every licks required to support any fantasy crossing their mind. I sense this is another side project gone wild case. We will soon have sequel and sequel in the future, even though this should be a parody project! A must have power metal album!

Metal Harem class: ********* nine stars out of ten

Gloryhammer - Tales From the Kingdom of Fife (2013)

1. Anstruther's Dark Prop
2. The Unicorn Invasion of Dundee
3. Angus McFife
4 .Quest For the Hammer of Glory
5. Magic Dragon
6. Silent Tears of Frozen Princess
7. Amulet of Justice
8. Hail to Crail
9. Beneath Cowdenbreath (Instrumental)
10. The Epic Rage of Furious Thunder

Thomas L. Winkler – Vocals (Emerald)
Paul Templing – Guitars (Sorcerer's Spell)
Christopher Bowes – Keyboards (Alestorm)
James Cartwright – Bass (Bumilingus)
Ben Turk – Drums (Sorcerer's Spell)
Record Label: Napalm Records

GloryHammer Tales From The Kingdom of Fife album review

real map of The Kingdom of Fife, Scotland 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...