L.A. Guns Hollywood Forever 2012

L.A. Guns was important band in the Hollywood 80s-90s hard rock scenes, closely related to Guns N' Roses and many others important band. They had enough history that nowdays there were two line ups bears L.A. Guns' legacy. One is the official line up with Steve Rileys and singer Phil Lewis, the other is by guitarist Tracii Guns, who actually also the icon of L.A. Guns. This 2012 release, Hollywood Forever is the one recorded by the official Phil Lewis line up. Together with guitarist Stacey Blades and bassist Scotty Griffin, and with Andy Johns as producer.

While some of 90s long hair band put efforts to resurrect their missed genre such as Trixter, Tyketto and Great White, here L.A. Guns didn't really bring back that music that grew them up in Hollywood. It's less wild and rather sounds mature. Title track Hollywood Forever is actually dark and heavier tunes, but just slightly a step away from their memorable Cocked & Loaded album. However the voice of Phil Lewis is enough to bring back our memories on that era. The bridge in You Better Not Love Me is actually a close one and good in song crafting. Some of groove and drumming still gives us bit of memories, Eel Pie for example. Vine St. Shimmy as well but in its guitar riff and its a good efforst considering it is Stacey Blades that try to bring in the Tracii Guns memory. And there are more hard rock in this the total of 15 tracks on this package.

Hollywood Forever maybe the album that continue L.A. Guns tradition. Though not with its legendary guitarist Tracii Guns, Phil Lewis sound can be fulfilling for those longing L.A. Guns resurrection after years of disorientation. Overall this is a nice fit between old and modern sound of this band.

Metal Harem class: ******* 7 stars out of 10

L.A. Guns Hollywood Forever 2012
buy it here

1. "Hollywood Forever"
2. "You Better Not Love Me"
3. "Eel Pie"
4. "Sweet Mystery"
5. "Burn"
6. "Vine St. Shimmy"
7. "Dirty Black Night"
8. "Underneath The Sun"
9. "Queenie"
10. "Crazy Tango"
11. "Venus Bomb"
12. "I Won't Play"
13. "Requiem (Hollywood Forever)"
14. "Arana Negra (Black Spider)" (Cover of The Bicicletas song)
15. "Rattlesnake"

Phil Lewis - vocals
Steve Riley - drums
Stacey Blades - guitars
Scott Griffin - bass

L.A. Guns Photographic Art for Cover Album Hollywood Forever

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...