Manowar The Lord of Steel 2012

The King of Metal is back. This time the moniker raise into The Lord of Steel, released 16th June 2012. It's the 12th studio album, produced by member bassist Joey DeMaio. This album back to their power metal origin, without over symphonic elements as in Gods of War. Many songs are built straight away from good old riffing, the guitarist Karl Logan had experiment with more heavier guitar distortion.

Opening track The Lord of Steel captured back many Manowar's earlier spirit. Notable here is the drummer Donnie Hamzik which magnify the song with his powerful drumming licks. Manowarriors is typical Manowar song with its power choruses. Born In A Grave is moderate tempo song,  Eric Adams singing is the main vocal point in many songs, especially this song which is very story driven structure. Righteous Glory is chordal guitar ballad ala Gods of War. Jump to the track Black List is interesting composition with more than two minutes overture of bass and guitar. The final interesting point is song El Gringo, keyboard layered and minor scale feel power metal song.

This is a welcoming come back album of Manowar. Manowar had gone through the years, so far most of their years are juggling between are they going to the commercial or to the experimental direction of their music. With this album however, Manowar perhaps choose to back to their easier listening path, with simple power metal songs. The production is great, with drumming and bass quite in the front. Guitar sounds is very subjective, I would rather said if it can provide the "crispy" version of distortion, then we can judge what is the best sound for this album. Vocals of Eric Adams is still the classic from Manowar and bring the song into emotional rendering. If you like power metal and earlier Manowar, this album will captured your heart.

Metal Harem class: ******* 7 stars out of 10

Manowar The Lord of Steel 2012
buy it here
  1. The Lord Of Steel – (4:07)
  2. Manowarriors – (4:46)
  3. Born In A Grave – (5:47)
  4. Righteous Glory – (6:10)
  5. Touch The Sky – (3:49)
  6. Black List – (6:58)
  7. Expendable – (3:10)
  8. El Gringo – (4:57)
  9. Annihilation – (4:00)
  10. Hail Kill And Die – (3:56)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...