Threshold March of Progress 2012

Already two decades in business is Threshold, progressive metal band formed in South of England late ’80. They are, according to some sources, longest progressive metal band in service in UK. This month the band will released their already ninth album, March of Progress. This is yet another first encounter for me, never heard them before, so I will not having knowledge on their previous music and solely comment on this album alone. Which is enough to enjoy the depth of their attraction here. The official website said, “..combined the influences of heavy metal and progressive rock to craft their own unique sound which was a far cry from the commercial sound of the time…” , under the examiner table this is quite true. The whole album sound like an intelligent version of progressive metal, not much speed in practise and the band emphasizes on diligent work in putting creative notes in one pieces together.

The singer sing out each songs with characteristic of Ian Gillan if you asked me. This is captured from the first song Ashes which has opening verse as in the light of Deep Purple lately tunes. Darker and slower song follow next in the second song Return Of the Thought Police. Again another six minutes did not passed away unworthy, this song has many memorable verses , bridge and choruses. Staring At The Sun follow next with intense intro opening. Boys, there are really well composed progressive metal dishes in the next line. If the references are to Dream Theater, I think Threshold did not match too many similarity. I think progressive rock of YES combined with heavy metal is more likely associations.  My next favourite are The Hours, Coda (started with nice riff), and The Rubicon , the last is the longest tracks, ten minutes duration.

In the band bits of history, this album marked return of singer Damian Wilson, must be something there but be sure he delivered very characteristic voices. Musicians of this genre will have no doubt on their technical skills and Threshold executed each required notes without flaws. In fact, Threshold is really technical, their music did not rely on double speed double pedal drum, or overly kills shred, but a simply “soft” progressive metal / rock approach. March of Progress also provided good replay value, the songs can be dig again and again and find something new in each listening sessions. Recommended released by a band in their ninth grade life cycle.

Metalharem class: ******** eight stars out of ten

Threshold March of Progress 2012
buy it here @ Amazon

01. Ashes
02. Return Of The Thought Police
03. Staring At The Sun
04. Liberty Complacency Dependency
05. Colophon
06. The Hours
07. That's Why We Came
08. Don't Look Down
09. Coda
10. Rubicon
11. Divinity [digipak bonus]

Damian Wilson - vocals
Karl Groom - guitar
Richard West - keyboards
Johanne James - drums
Steve Anderson - bass
Pete Morten - guitar

Green environmentalism artwork for cover album

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...